Home»Events»LACMA Announces Awardees for 2nd Annual Healthcare Awards

LACMA Announces Awardees for 2nd Annual Healthcare Awards

Pinterest Google+

The Los Angeles County Medical Association (LACMA) and the Patient Care Foundation today announced the individuals and organizations that will be honored at the second annual Healthcare Awards, which celebrate leadership, innovation, education, community service and healthcare facilities in Los Angeles.


The awards will be presented at the 2nd Annual Healthcare Awards dinner to be held on October 17, 2013, at the California Club in Downtown Los Angeles. Proceeds will help support the Patient Care Foundation’s Medical Student Scholarship Program, which helps cultivate the next generation of physicians who will practice medicine in Los Angeles County.

This year’s Healthcare Champion of the Year is Dr. Patrick Soon-Shiong, Chairman of the Chan Soon-Shiong Family Foundation, leading medical researcher and scientific inventor as well as prominent philanthropist. He will join 2012 Healthcare Champion of the Year awardee Los Angeles County Supervisor Mark Ridley-Thomas in the new Healthcare Hall of Fame.

“LACMA takes great pride in recognizing outstanding individuals and organizations who impact healthcare in our community,” said Dr. Troy Elander, President of the Patient Care Foundation of Los Angeles County. “Dr. Patrick Soon-Shiong is an extraordinary individual who has given so much to Los Angeles, the nation and the world through his scientific accomplishments, business acumen and philanthropic activities. He embodies what it means to be a true Champion of Healthcare.”

The awards recognize individuals and institutions for their exemplary contributions to improving access to quality healthcare in Los Angeles.

This year’s awardees include: 

Independent Physician Leadership Award – Dr. Richard Zapanta, Eastside Orthopedic Medical Associates

Hospital Physician Leadership Award – Dr. Eric Savitsky, UCLA Emergency Medicine Center

Innovation Award for Public Education – Dr. Matthew Y. Lin, President, Pacific Shore Medical Group

Innovation Award for Community Service – UCLA Operation Mend — Dr. Christopher Crisera and Dr. Kodi Azari accepting

Innovation Award for Facilities – Westside Family Health, Debra A. Farmer, CEO accepting

Innovation Award for Technology – Dr. Carmen Puliafito, Office of the Dean, Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California

Previous post

The Fight to Protect MICRA

Next post

KNX 1070 Healthcare Uncovered Special: What the Affordable Care Act Means for Physicians