Home»Leadership»2017 Celebrating Women in Medicine Awardees

2017 Celebrating Women in Medicine Awardees

Pinterest Google+

The Women Physicians’ Action Committee at LACMA is pleased to announce the physician and healthcare advocates to be honored at the Celebrating Women in Medicine Luncheon. The awards will be presented at the luncheon on September 16th in downtown LA. Click here for more information or to RSVP.

In the meantime, we’re introducing each of the awardees and sharing their unique qualifications and achievements that led WPAC to choose them to be recognized. It was important to WPAC to look to women at all phases in their careers when choosing the awardees. We hope you’ll join us in celebrating the contributions each of these women has made to the House of Medicine.

Check back to this page over the next couple weeks as we post more stories and spotlights.

The Rose Talbot Bullard Award Woman Physician Champion & Trailblazer goes to Dr. Ruth Haskins this year. 

Sacramento-area obstetrician and gynecologist Ruth E. Haskins, M.D., currently serves as President of the California Medical Association. Dr. Haskins graduated from the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine in 1985 before completing her four-year residency at the David Grant USAF Medical Center at Travis Air Force Base in California. She continued her military service — eventually becoming Chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Scott Air Force Base in Illinois — until she completed her Air Force service in 1993 at the rank of Major.

Since then, Dr. Haskins has been practicing medicine primarily in the Sacramento area. She managed a solo Ob/Gyn practice in Fair Oaks for four years before serving as an associate professor at UC Davis from 1997 to 2008. After 2008, she returned to practicing solo, and now runs a thriving practice in Folsom. Over her career, Dr. Haskins has been affiliated with a variety of organizations dealing with women’s health and physician advocacy. She has been a member of CMA and the Sierra Sacramento Valley Medical Society for 22 years, serving as a CMA trustee from 2013 to 2015 and as chair of the CMA Council on Legislation from 2010 to 2013.

Dr. Haskins was a speaker at LACMA’s Leadership Conference earlier this year. She shared the ways in which her career path has been defined by both successes and failures. Her message of persistence and resilience was well-received. We’re looking forward to hearing more of her story at the Celebrating Women in Medicine Luncheon and pleased to have the chance to honor her many contributions as a woman physician and leader.

The award for Outstanding Leadership — Providing Inspiration and Support for the Women of LACMA isn’t being given to a physician, rather WPAC is honoring the steady support that’s come from leadership at the Cooperative for American Physicians and Mutual Protection Trust – CEO Sarah Pacini, JD and COO Cindy Belcher.

WPAC Chair, Dr. Stephanie Booth observed that both Pacini and Belcher have reached almost unheard of levels of success for women in healthcare. As an organization, CAP/MPT provides essential services to physicians and have supported a wide range of LACMA activities. Under their leadership, Pacini and Belcher has created a culture that has included sustained support for WPAC efforts and activities.

Women in MedicineSarah Pacini began her work with CAP/MPT in early 2015. She draws on her extensive leadership background in health care, law, patient safety, risk management, captive insurance and medical professional liability to direct CAP’s core businesses – MPT and the CAPAssurance Risk Purchasing Group, which provide access to superior medical professional liability protection, patient safety education, and risk management services.

Cindy Belcher joined CAP in 1999 and has worked her way up through the ranks to her current role as chief operating officer. In this capacity, Ms. Belcher oversees enterprise business development and retention for both the Mutual Protection Trust (MPT) and CAPAssurance, human resources, marketing and corporate communications, and the CAP Physicians Insurance Agency.

WPAC is pleased to have the chance to recognize the work of both Sarah Pacini and Cindy Belcher. We appreciate their support and are grateful for the strength of their leadership.

This week we’re recognizing Stacy Songco, recipient of the Rising Physician Leadership Star Award and Dr. Marcy Zwelling-Aamot for “Lifetime Service to Organized Medicine.”

Dr. Zwelling-Aamot has been a stalwart supporter of organized medicine throughout her career. She is board-certified in Internal and Emergency Medicine as well as Critical Care and Quality Assurance / Utilization Review. She is well-known for helping her patients navigate an increasingly complex and troubled healthcare system. She served as a member of the Board of Trustees of the California Medical Association for 6 years after serving as President of the Los Angeles County Medical Association. WPAC is pleased to have the chance to honor such a steadfast supporter of organized medicine.

Women in Medicine

Stacy Songco is currently studying at David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA and pursuing her Masters degree at Master’s in Public Policy at the UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs. She’s committed to working with underserved populations in Los Angeles. We’re pleased to recognize Stacy with this award. She has a bright future ahead of her. We’re anticipating that she’ll continue to include  organized medicine on the local, state and national level. We look forward to seeing what issues she’ll tackle in her career.

Women in Medicine

The Excellence in Physician Advocacy is being awarded to Karen Miotto, MD. Dr. Miotto is a staunch advocate for physician wellness. Last year she brought the important message of physician wellness and balance to the LACMA community at the WPAC conference. She has been recognized by CMA with the Gary S. Nye Award for Physician Health and Well-Being in recognition of “her selfless devotion to advocating and promoting the wellbeing of her fellow  physicians.” She is a Clinical Professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at UCLA and the Director of the UCLA Addiction Medicine Service. We are pleased to present Dr. Miotto with this award for her work in continuing to bring the issue of physician burnout font and center.

Dr. Karen Miotto


Post Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Previous post

The Value of Membership

Next post

Member Spotlight: Farshid Sam Rahbar, MD